Monday, March 2, 2015

Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classsic Moved Back A Day

CLARKSVILLE TN - Due to weather concerns, Clarksville Speedway officials have decided to move the schedule for the Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic forward by one day.

Practice will be on Friday, March 6th starting at 5:00 pm. They will race Saturday with gates opening at 12:00 and hot laps around 3:00. Sunday will see gates opening at 11:00 with hot laps around 1:00.

Camden Moves Back First Practice

Atlanta NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Wrap: Johnny Sauter


Johnny Sauter
Johnny Sauter
HAMPTON GA - Johnny Sauter, driver of the #98, Nextant Aerospace/Curb Records Toyota Tundra, finished a track-best sixth in Friday night's NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Hyundai Construction Equipment 200 at Atlanta Motor Speedway. Starting 13th, Sauter struggled with an "unbelievably loose" Toyota Tundra through the opening laps of the 130-lap event. Crew chief Doug George brought the #98 machine to pit road twice at laps 12 and 19, respectively, to make wholesale changes on the Nextant Aerospace Tundra in an effort to tighten up the Toyota.

Restarting 28th on lap lap 22, Sauter worked his way inside the top-15 by lap 30 and the top-10 by lap 60, making a pit stop at lap 51, under caution, for four tires and fuel. Running as high as third, the ThorSport Racing driver came down pit road for one last stop under green at lap 101 for four tires and fuel before settling in to the sixth position with 20 laps remaining. The Necedah WI driver crossed the stripe sixth behind race winner Matt Crafton, claiming his track-best finish in five starts at Atlanta.

"Yeah, we just have always struggled here. This is as good a finish as I've ever had here. Man, wholesale changes during the race. I mean, we're talking inches on the track bar and the pit stops were awesome all night long and we just raced the race track as best I could. I mean, it's alright. It's not what you want, but it's a decent finish."
  • Johnny Sauter finished sixth in the Hyundai Construction Equipment 200 at Atlanta Motor Speedway
  • The sixth-place finish was a track best for the ThorSport Racing driver in five starts at Atlanta
  • Sauter is up to fourth in the 2015 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver point standings following the second race of the season, a mere eight points behind leader Tyler Reddick
  • Ty Dillon (second), Ben Kennedy (third), Daniel Suarez (fourth), and Tyler Reddick (fifth) rounded out the remainder of the top-five finishers
  • ThorSport Racing teammate, Matt Crafton finished first, and Cameron Hayley was 14th
  • Up next: Kroger 250 at Martinsville Speedway on Saturday, March 28th
Practice 1: 14th (31.35 seconds)
Qualifying: 13th (31.05 seconds)

Winterfest at Winchester Speedway

Winterfest at Winchester Speedway

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Point Standings After Atlanta

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Point Standings After Atlanta

Sunday, March 1, 2015

Atlanta NASCAR Sprint Cup Series: Results

Weekly Schedule: 2/23 - 3/1/2015

Saturday 2/28
  • Clarksville Speedway: Dirt Practice
  • Duck River Raceway Park: Winter Rush Enduro (postponed to 3/7 - weather)
  • Middle Tennessee Dragway: Test & Tune (canceled - weather)
  • NASCAR Camping World Truck Series at Atlanta Motor Speedway (results)
    • 6 - Johnny Sauter (Mike Curb - car owner)
    • 28 - Mason Mingus (Brentwood TN)
  • Pickwick Dragway: Bracket Racing
    • Super Pro winner: Christopher Taylor
    • Footbrake winner: James Shotts
Sunday 3/1
  • Clarksville Speedway: Drag Test & Tune (canceled - weather)
  • Music City Raceway: Test & Tune (rained out)
  • NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Atlanta Motor Speedway (results)
    • 32 - Josh Wise (Mike Curb - car owner)
Click here to see the latest from Middle Tennessee Racing Scene!
Member of the Boxxet Network of Blogs, Videos and Photos